LAMC Stock Photo

Curriculum Committee

Curriculum Committee : Charter


ATTENTION:All committee sites have moved to a new platform. This sites is no longer editable and is available as read-only. The new committee website can be accessed by clicking the button below. Login using your LACCD SSO credentials (same for Outlook, Canvas, and PeopleSoft).

New LAMC Committee Sites

For public access to the committee files click on the button below.

Public Access

The Curriculum Committee is a Standing Committee of the Academic Senate.

The Curriculum Committee shall be responsible for:

  1. Recommending policies concerning curriculum, general education, graduation requirements, occupational certificate requirements, transfer requirements, academic standards, and related matters; and
  2. Recommending for approval curricular proposals concerning new courses or programs, and additions, deletions, or changes to existing courses/programs.

The Curriculum Committee shall consist of:

  1. A Chair (non-voting), shall be elected from and by the Committee membership and will serve a two-year term.  In the event where there no current members interested in serving as Curriculum Chair the Academic Senate President may appoint a faculty member to the position.
  2. A Vice Chair (voting), shall be elected from and by the Committee membership and will serve a two-year term.
  3. Nineteen (19) voting faculty members appointed by the Academic Senate to serve a two-year term representing each of the following areas: 
(1) Adult Basic Education


Arts, Media & Performance


Business & Law


Chicano Studies


Child and Family Studies


English, Journalism & Communication Studies


ESL, Dev Com, Foreign Languages & Linguistics


Health and Human Performance




Life Sciences


Math, Computer Science & Engineering


Physical Sciences


Culinary Arts


Social Sciences


Members at Large (appointed by the Academic Senate)


Members at Large (appointed by the AFT Faculty Guild)


 4.  Two (2) additional voting faculty members serving in the following positions:

  • SLO Coordinator
  • Articulation Officer


5.  One (1) non-voting member, as follows:

  • Curriculum Dean

In the event of a tie, the Curriculum Committee Chair can exercise a tie-breaker vote during a curriculum meeting.

Quorum is based on 50% + 1 of voting membership.

It is the responsibility of each member of the Curriculum Committee to attend each meeting and adhere to the College Code of Conduct. 

Members with three unexcused absences in a semester will be replaced by a member of the appropriate constituent group. Members are responsible to disseminate committee information to their respective constituents.